Two DUPRI Scholars Named Bass Chairs

DUPRI Scholars Sarah Gaither and Manoj Mohanan are two of seven Duke faculty named as a 2023 Bass Chair and inducted into the Bass Society of Fellows in recognition of their demonstrated excellence in both undergraduate teaching and research.

The induction was celebrated Monday, May 8 during a reception at the J.B. Duke Hotel.

The chairs were created in 1996 when Anne T. and Robert Bass gave $10 million as a matching gift to encourage Duke alumni, parents and friends to endow the positions. Candidates are nominated by faculty and evaluated by a faculty committee for having achieved “true excellence in both research and teaching” and being good university citizens.

Bass professors hold their named chairs for five-year terms and then become lifetime members of the Bass Society of Fellows.